My Top Anime 3×3

I hear kids these days make these collages to show off their taste in anime. Welp, guess what I’ve spent working on this past Saturday. At first I wanted to make one off the top of my head, but I soon found myself browsing through old anime seasons. Before I knew it the day was over and I’ve built a shortlist that you can’t go wrong with. But I had to choose a handful and this is what I came up with.

Top 9 Anime
My hesitantly chosen Top 9 Anime Shows of All Time

A couple of points:

  • While browsing old seasons, I took notice of this show called Avenger from 2003. I wasn’t that averse to Bee Train’s shooters, but that one was probably the worst. I made Madlax a candidate though.
  • Another thing that I was reminded of was that I liked Suzumiya Haruhi only in the heat of the biggest hype. The boring DVD watch order embodies this sentiment perfectly.
  • I rewatched Howl’s Moving Castle yesterday. I was about to put it on the 3×3, but knowing recency bias might be in play convinced me otherwise. I probably made a bad decision. Hosoda’s Summer Wars didn’t come close. Shinkai’s films didn’t make the shortlist. So much for feature-length films.
  • Yes, that’s the Toei version of Kanon. Don’t listen to the talking heads, Shingetsutan Tsukihime was a best-seller. Black History is a lie.

That’s about it. Oh, and for the record, my heart broke when I decided to cut Chihayafuru. It was a tough call.

Leave a comment

